Distinguished Members

Since Regimental activation, the Signal Regiment has had a program for recognizing people who have made a special contribution or who have distinguished themselves in service to the Regiment.   Under the provisions of Army Regulation 600-82 (The U.S. Army Regimental System), all U.S. Army Regiments are authorized to select appointees to the position of Distinguished Member of the Regiment. There are no limits on the number of Distinguished Members, and their tenure is permanent. The positions are designed to promote and enhance the history and traditions of the Regiment and foster cohesion among members of the Regiment.

Distinguished Members of the Regiment are prestigious or notable military or civilian persons who are recognized for their accomplishments. They must be current or former members of the Signal Corps Regiment. Nominees may be active, U.S. Army Reserve, Army National Guard or Signal Regiment Department of the Army civilians (active or retired status).

The designation as a Distinguished Member of the Regiment is largely ceremonial and serves to perpetuate the history and traditions of the Regiment, thereby enhancing unit morale and esprit.  The Honorary Colonel, Honorary Warrant Officer and Honorary Sergeant Major of the Regiment are distinguished, retired Army Signal Regiment special appointees who simultaneously become Distinguished Members of the Regiment when appointed to their honorary positions. These appointees serve a three-year tour and participate in command and award ceremonies, speaking engagements at dinings-in and other similar functions which help bridge the gap between the past and the present. When their honorary appointment term ends, they remain lifetime Distinguished Members.

Distinguished Members:

2016 (Biographies)
LTG (Ret) Carroll Pollett
LTG (Ret) Mark Bowman
Mr Edwin Armstrong
Mr Frank Capra
SES (Ret) Michael Krieger
COL (Ret) William Bell
CW5 (Ret) Ricardo Pina
CSM (Ret) Donald Manley
COL (Ret) Mary Hammond
COL (Ret) William Lane

Mr. David Kintner
Ms. Grace Derby Banker
MAJ Edward J. Murphy

2014 (Biographies 2014 and ealier)
MG (Ret) Joseph Mauborgne
BG (Ret) Velma Richardson
COL (Ret) Joseph 'Jake' Simmons
CW5 (Ret) Leslie Cornwall
CSM (Ret) Vernon Praymous

GEN Via LTG (Ret.) Susan Lawrence
LTC (Ret.) Reuben Abramovitz
MG (Ret.) John Scott
CSM (Ret.) Thomas Clark
CW5 (Ret.) Wayne Jensen


LTG (Ret.) William Campbell

MG Dacier
Mr Martin Zimmerman
COL (Ret.) Pete Farrell
COL (Ret.) Craig Zimmerman
CW5 (Ret.) Andy Barr
CSM (Ret.) Ray Lane
CSM (Ret.) Michael Terry
Ms Wanda Butler

LTC (Ret.) Edward Carnes
CSM (Ret.) McKinley Curtis, III
MG (Ret.) Gerd Grombacher
CW5 (Ret.) Bernard Mllloy
MG (Ret.) Robert L. Nabors
MG (Ret.) Thomas A. Wessels
CW4 (Ret.) Jack C. Wilson

LTG (Ret.) Michael W. Ackerman
CSM (Ret.) Charles J. Johnson
LTG (Ret.) Vaughn O. Lang
CW5 (Ret.) Robert Pace
MG (Ret.) Alan B. Salisbury
Mr. John R. Turns

CW4 (Ret.) Curley A. Avant
MG (Ret.) Gerard P. Brohm
LTG (Ret.) David J. Kelley
Ms. Elizabeth J. Patten

LTG (Ret.) Peter M. Cuviello
MAJ (Ret.) Bobby Dunn
CW5 (Ret.) Bruce Gardner
CSM (Ret.) Larry Paylor
MG (Ret.) Eugene C. Renzi


CSM (Ret.) Ernest Chaney
MG (Ret.) John E. Hoover
CW5 (Ret.) Jack Hrubik
COL (Ret.) Jerry Van Patten

Mr. David Borland
CW4 (Ret.) James P. Eury
CSM (Ret.) Kermit D. Short
MG (Ret.) Charles G. Sutten Jr.

COL (Ret.) Robert L. Forrester
LTG (Ret.) Otto J. Guenther
MG (Ret.) David R. Gust

LTG (Ret.) Douglas D. Buchholz
Mr. Victor J. Ferlise
Dr. Michael L. Gentry
COL (Ret.) Robert S. Snead

LTG (Ret.) Robert E. Gray

LTG (Ret.) Thomas M.N. Rlenzi
CSM (Ret.) Samuel M. Smith
Mr. John T. Holleran
SGM (Ret.) Clyde E. Hyde Jr.
COL (Ret.) C. Lee Vannes

LTG (Ret.) William J. Hilsman
COL (Ret.) Lamar H. Murphy Jr.
COL (Ret.) Scott Long
COL (Ret.) Gordon Johnston (Medal of Honor recipient)
MG Adolphus W. Greely (Medal of Honor recipient)
SGT will Croft Barnes (Medal of Honor recipient)
CW4 (Ret.) Wlllle J. Battle Dr. Paul J. Scheips

CSM (Ret.) Timothy M. McCarthy
LTG (Ret.) Charles R. Myer
CW4 (Ret) Paul A. Zeisman
COL (Ret.) Earl J. Holliman
MG (Ret.) Charles E. Kilbourne Jr. (Medal of Honor recipient)
PVT Morgan D. Lane (Medal of Honor recipient)
Sen. Joseph Maxwell Cleland


LTG (Ret.) Bruce R. Harris
MW4 (Ret.) Joseph L. Durbin Jr.

LTG (Ret.) Alfred J. Mallette
Dr. Robert H. Rines
COL (Ret.) Tommy T. Osborne
CSM (ret.) James K. Hussey Jr.
LTG (Ret.) Alonzo E. Short Jr.
LTG (Ret.) Peter A. Kind


LTG (Ret.) Robert J. Donahue

LTG (Ret.) Billy M. Thomas
LTG (Ret.) John T. Myers
COL (Ret.) Robert M. Reich
Mr. Billy R. Boyd

Mr. Vincent A. Abbatiello
LTG (Ret.) Thurman D. Rodgers

CSM (Ret.) Cecil B. Miles
COL (Ret.) Eddie D. Wheelock
COL (Ret.) Everett O. Greenwood
LTG (Ret.) Clarence E. McKnight
LTG (Ret.) Emmett Paige Jr.
CSM (Ret.) Aurellous A. Winter
CSM (Ret.) Randal R. Helton
MG (Ret.) Leo M. Childs
MG (Ret.) David E. White

CW4 (Ret.) James L. Donaldson



COL (Ret.) David S. Kyle